Ten Square Miles

Released May 5th, 2015

Lupowitz and band swung for the fences on this love letter to Ithaca and succeeded — especially on songs such as “Green Street Blues,” “ Lucifer Falls” and the epic closer “City on the Hill.” — Jim Catalano, Ithaca Journal

Named one of the Ithaca Journal’s top local albums of 2015, this nine-song cycle chronicles coming of age in Ithaca, NY through SBL & co’s unique blend of rock, soul, jazz, and Americana. The sophomore record from the Ego Band features the individual talents of the group’s eight members, including the three-piece horn section, slide guitarist Will Gelder, the rhythm section of Will Sigel and Drew Serafini, and vocalist Mandy Goldman.

Buy the digital album or CD

View or download the digital booklet

Other vendors:
CD Baby | iTunes | Amazon

Produced by Samuel B. Lupowitz for the Audible Guild
Recorded & engineered by Cassandra Medcalf at Electric Wilburland, Newfield, NY
Additional recording by Dana Billings, Mark Hennessey, and Jesse Tyrrell
Mixed by Mark Hennessey for the Audible Guild
Mastered by Will Russell at Electric Wilburland

Samuel B. Lupowitz – piano, bass, Hammond organ, Rhodes, clavinet, tambourine, lead & backing vocals
Mandy Goldman – lead & backing vocals
Will Gelder – electric & slide guitars
Drew Serafini – acoustic & electric guitars, bass, mandolin
Will Sigel – drums
Jeff Chilton – tenor & bass trombone
Jimmy Rose – trumpet
Alec Staples – tenor & baritone saxophone, flute

J.P. Feenstra – percussion (track 8)
Cassie “Mama Cass” Medcalf – background vocals (tracks 1, 7)
Harry Nichols – background vocals (tracks 1, 7)
Jeremy Pletter – bass vocals (track 1)
Sam Shuhan – upright bass (track 8)

All music and lyrics by Samuel B. Lupowitz except track 2 by Samuel B. Lupowitz & Mandy Goldman
All selections © 2012-2015 Kugel Music (ASCAP)
Horns arranged by Samuel B. Lupowitz & the Horn Section
Vocal arrangements on tracks 4 and 6 by Mandy Goldman

Album design, art, and photography by J.P. Feenstra
Band photo by Cassie Medcalf


Ian Cummings, Neal Massa, Alan Rose, and Lawnie Updike for generous lending of instruments.

Jim Catalano, Dan Cole, Marissa Framarini, Jonathan Hochberg, and Will Russell for creative support and getting the word out.

Mark & James for going above and beyond as always.

Our families, friends, teachers, mentors, and other loved ones for their support of us, music, and music education.

And our sponsors, without whom this would only be a dream:
Judy Arpadi
Hilary Chubb
David Goldman
Matt Goldman & Ann Pearson
Morgan Goldstein
Alyssa Hume
Jewels of Light
Erik Johanson
Karen Johanson
Maureen Kelly & Luca Mauer
Rick Kline
Jeremy A. Lupowitz
Robin & Jeffrey Lupowitz
Angela & Rick Miller
Kevin Murphy
Harry & Kat Nichols
Alan Rose
Saul Schuster
Lawrence Serafini
Heather Schuck
Benjamin Tier
Grace Wivell
The Yatron Family

Leave a Comment